About the Cayman Islands

History & Culture

The Cayman Islands are located 480 miles south of Miami and 189 miles northwest of Jamaica. Known for its natural beauty and the best weather in the world, all three islands of the British Crown Colony – Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman – are great destinations for even the most discerning tourist.

The three Cayman Islands total an area of approximately 100 square miles. Between Cayman and Jamaica, is the Cayman Trench, the deepest part of the Caribbean Sea with depth charted down to four miles.

The largest of the islands, Grand Cayman is the home of Cayman government, many historic sites, restaurants, and duty free shops. The Cayman Islands are the fifth-largest banking center in the world, with $1.5 trillion in banking liabilities. North of its capital, George Town, is one of the most spectacular beaches in the Caribbean – famous Seven Mile Beach. This side of the island is also home to most of the luxury hotels, villas, and condominiums.

Waters of the Cayman Islands are crystal clear and warm throughout the year with over 200 dive sites, each with its own name and unique characteristics. There are several dive operations ready to cater to all your diving needs. Shore diving is also popular as well as snorkeling. One of the well known snorkeling spots is Cemetery Reef, which is located just walking distance from Aqua Bay Club Condos. Grand Cayman is also famous for its two 18-hole golf courses, riding stables, and great year-round fishing.

Perfect for the solo adventurer, for the romantic get-away, or for family gathering, the Cayman Islands have your kind of adventure. You can’t go wrong with Grand Cayman vacation!